Debut Spotlight: Dear Daughter & Dry Bones in the Valley

Buzz-worthy debut novel: Dear Daughter by Elizabeth Little (Viking)

Winner of the Strand Critics Award for best debut novel. Nominated for the Barry and Macavity Awards for Best First Novel, and long listed for the CWA John Creasy (New Blood) Dagger Award.

Starred review from Library Journal: “Little makes a thrilling debut with this gripping read. Fans of Tana French and Gillian Flynn are going to enjoy the smart narrator and the twists and turns in the case.” 

Hardcover: 384 pages

First printing: not listed*

Buzz worthy debut novel: Dry Bones in the Valley by Tom Bouman (W.W. Norton)

Winner of the 2015 Edgar Award for Best First Novel by an American Author. Winner of the 2015 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Mystery/Thriller. Nominated for Macavity Award for Best First Novel and Strand Critics Award for Best First Novel. Long listed for the CWA John Creasy (New Blood) Dagger Award.

Publishers Weekly & Kirkus starred reviews.

Book description: "The lone police officer in a rural Northern Pennsylvania town finds trouble on the heels of the gas drilling, which has brought money, crime and heroin and meth into the territory and must investigate a murder that tears at old wounds."

First printing: 13,000 [Strand Books]

Note: I found one signed copy listing for $150.

The other Strand Critics Nominees: 

The Home Place by Carrie La Seur (William Morrow) 

First printing: 100,000 [Publishers Weekly]

Ice Shear by M.P. Cooley (William Morrow)

Nominated for a Barry Award for Best First Novel.

Publishers Weekly starred review

First printing: 50,000 [Baker & Taylor]

Confessions by Kanae Minato and translated by Stephen Snyder (Mulholland Books)

One of Wall Street Journal's Favorite Mysteries of 2014, Publishers Weekly starred review.

First printing: not listed*

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica (Mira) - Publishers Weekly starred review.

First printing: 35,000 [Publishers Weekly]

And just as a side note: title links lead to pages. I do not receive revenue from Amazon for any links posted, click-through traffic, or products purchased. Links are provided for information purposes only.

* I will update first printing data, should new information arise.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,