Debut: Security by Gina Wohlsdorf

Apologies all, life went and did what it usually does — got a bit hectic, and I was pulled away from the blog for a bit. (Something I hope to remedy.) But I was reading through some book reviews this morning and came across this title, a debut by Gina Wholsdorf. And, I don't know, maybe it's because I need some escapist reading or maybe it's because there's a Daphne du Maurier connection, but this sounded somewhat promising.

I feel I have to put in a trigger warning here, given recent events. This is a murder mystery and has, according to the synopsis, a Stephen King slant, as such, people are killed. Some may not find this an escapist read right now (or ever) and that is okay. I definitely have to be in the right mood for it. I have a post on Southern fiction coming up — always good for a get away. So just hang in there, and maybe go get a lovely cup of coffee or tea (or whatever the appropriate drink might be given the time of day you are reading this. It is, after all, five o'clock somewhere).

In the mean time...

Security by Gina Wholsdorf (Algonquin, June 7, 2016)

This is her debut novel and is getting some starred reviews, so worth a look.

Synopsis: "Manderley Resort is a gleaming, new twenty-story hotel on the California coast. It’s about to open its doors, and the world--at least those with the means to afford it--will be welcomed into a palace of opulence and unparalleled security. But someone is determined that Manderley will never open. The staff has no idea that their every move is being watched, and over the next twelve hours they will be killed off, one by one.

Writing in the tradition of Edgar Allan Poe and Stephen King, and with a deep bow to Daphne du Maurier, author Gina Wohlsdorf pairs narrative ingenuity and razor-wire prose with quick twists, sharp turns, and gasp-inducing terror. Security is grand guignol storytelling at its very best."

Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Booklist (starred review)

Happy reading!

Labels: , , , , , , , ,